Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-06-18 - 4:13 p.m.

honeymoon's over

Yeah, don't even get me started on that last entry. That situation has gotten worse since I wrote about it. "Personal Responsibility" is apparently on a permanent fucking vacation for some people.

And that brings me to today. It has been 15 months of bliss working at my job, for my really great company. Until today. First bad day in 15 months. Not a bad run really. I mean, I knew almost instantly in my last job that I wasn't going to like it. But I stayed there because of one person who was great and taught me a hell of a lot about networks and pc's. Oh yeah, and because I had to pay the mortgage somehow... that was a reason too.

But back to today. What happened, basically, is that I was embarassed by my executive director. That's not the bad part though. The thing is, it happened in front of a co-worker. Not just any co-worker, but the "Jesus-freak", really lazy, anything-I-can-do-to-shirk-responsibility co-worker. I hate her. More to the point - I have no respect for her. I explained this to my director today.

Me: "Listen, it's like this: I just have no respect - personally or professionally - for her. And so what you said, whether or not you meant to embarass me ended up embarassing me for the mere fact that it happened in front of her. Make sense?"

And he replied in that very corporate way that they teach them in corporateville.

And no matter what the outcome was - I am still the one who couldn't hold his tongue, keep his cool in a pressure situation. And I hate that.

You ever had one of those days where everything seemed brighter. Everything was clearer. Your favorite songs played on the radio all day. You didn't get any of the red lights on the way home. Everthing just fell into place? Well - today was not one of those days for me. It was apparently my 'opposite day.' And I was never a fan of opposite day.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!