Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-05 - 8:38 a.m.

lucky or just ignorant?

Zane's newest trick: High-five.

The daycare workers apparently taught him this. It's really amusing, even after 20 minutes of non-stop high-fiving. He will do the initial high-five, and then wait for my reaction, which must be an exaggerated roar of amazement and laughter. His reply is the cutest little one-year-old giggle signifying his understanding of the "connection" we have made.

Then we must do it again. All of it. If I fail to raise my palm he will reach down, pick up my hand, uncurl all my fingers and slap my hand. The best part of all this is the look he gives me once the deed has been done. Pure anticipation of my reaction and the praise and excitement that is sure follow. Pure innocence. Pure joy. He can be amused this way (it would seem) indefinitely. And I like it too.

Today - I spent some of the morning reading other blogs/journals. Apparently it's "depressing entry day" and someone failed to warn me. I did come across one that, while today's entry was depressing, was quite good. But it still focused on the sad sad life this guy leads. This morning - no one was happy with their spouse, children were misbehaving, jobs and lives derailed. How depressing. How truly depressing. What is it that makes some people fall into these patterns, while others appear to be immune to the troubles of life?

Could it be that some people only focus on the bad parts so they can write about them and get them out of their system? Could it be that they truly have depressing lives? How could you manage to keep motivated if all around you is crumbling? And more to the point - why don't you do something about it? I cannot imagine how you could meet someone, fall in love, have children and then realize it was all a mistake. I would like to believe, perhaps too idealistically, that I have truly found someone with whom I can grow and even change - without fear of "growing apart". The whole thing is too big for me to put into words right now - but you get the idea.

I look at my life and I must believe that I am incredibly lucky. I learn from Amanda. I learn from Zane. I am loved by Amanda, and I am loved by Zane. Really - please tell me - what could possibly be more important or make my life any better than it is?

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!