Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-01 - 7:55 a.m.

crazy dog lady

So last night was spent explaining the intricacies of our house and dogs to the girl, "K", who will be house sitting for us while we are in Florida. We leave Friday and come back Monday. I'm not exactly looking forward to the trip itself, especially with Zane in the car, but I am looking forward to seeing my parents.

I originally asked a co-worker to look in on the dogs while we were gone, but that turned out to be a complete disaster. This co-worker, "C" , lives within a mile of us and, while we often talk about good places to eat, shop etc. around our area, I don't really know her that well. She's nice and I think she'd be reliable. So I asked her just to stop by twice a day, let them out, feed them. And I'd pay her. She agreed to it. That was a few weeks ago.

Then, last Monday, she came into the office and told me she had picked up a stray dog (puppy) and had some questions for me. Her first question was:

"I was wondering if on the days I work late you could, on your way home, stop by and let her out."

So I agree to this although it sounds a bit strange to me. I only wanted her to help me out once, and there was a definite "end" to the favor I had asked of her. She wanted to have me on-call, as it were, and indefinitely.

That was in the morning. In the afternoon, when she returned from lunch, she stopped by to tell me that she had found a place that was a doggie daycare and only costs $16 a day. I said, "Great!", thinking that I was then off the hook. But her very next words were:

"So I was thinking that, on the days I take her there, you could pick her up from the daycare and take her to my house for me."

W - T - F ???

Ok - so now as it stands, you want me to basically participate in your "Dogs Without Dads" program? Are you fucking insane? I told her the idea of having a puppy (pit bull mix puppy) in my car was not something I liked. I also told her that my dogs don't even get in my car unless they have to. I also told her that the idea of having some strange dog, whose temperment I didn't know first-hand, around my one-year-old didn't make me happy. And basically I just told her "no".

She took it well and we went on with our day, and she hasn't asked me to do anything for her dog since.

So in the meantime we asked a friend of ours if she would actually house sit for us and take care of the dogs. I feel a lot better knowing that K is going to be there. We've known her for a while and she's actually excited to stay at our house for the weekend.

Note to self: Don't ever ask someone to do something when you're high on cold medicine. It just gets you in trouble.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!