Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-07 - 8:30 a.m.

sick

Being sick sucks.

I went for a ride (cycling) again the other day. It felt great, until I was about 3/4 of the way through. I had one of those moments where I knew I was getting sick, but tried to ignore it or pass it off as something else. I hoped I was just out of breath, or fatigued or something. By the time I got home I noticed that it was hard to swallow, my throat felt raw.

So the next day I went to the doctor. I had to see one of the other doctors in the practice as my regular one had had a family emergency. The one I saw is nice enough, I have seen her once before. She asked if I had noticed a fever or chills and I told her not really, but that I did have the heat on in the car that morning. She thought that was hilarious... and actually wrote it in my chart. "Had heat on in car. It's summer, in the south. Very humid."

She gave me great drugs though.

I decided on the way home to stop at the movie store to rent some DVDs - I had a plan in place. I was to go home and lay on the couch and watch movies. That's it - the plan. I walk into the store and quickly find two movies I thought I might like and I approach the checkout with them. Just as I am feeling smug about having spent only 4 minutes picking out two movies, the girl behind the counter looks at me as if I'm the world's biggest dumbass and says, "Sir, you actually have to get the movie from behind the display cases!"

I had brought her the empty box... dumbass.

I went straight to the pharmacy after that and got drugs. Soon I didn't care about the movie store incident. And I apparently didn't care about food for two days. In one forty-eight hour period my nourishment consisted of: 2 sprites, 1 bowl of cheerios (no milk). That was it. No food necessary to take the drugs, plus I wasn't hungry at all. I can feel the hunger coming back though... I may soon find myself ordering one of everything on the menu from the nearest restaurant I can find.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!