Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-12-10 - 9:05 a.m.

i never got my 50 bucks

Apparently the fact that I work in IT means that I know everything about computers. This also means that I know everything about the internet - at least according to the people at my office.

There are two types of people here: those that work in IT and those that don't. The ones who don't work in IT think that the three of us who do know absolutely everything there is to know about computers. When "the internet doesn't work right", we are the ones they turn to. Case in point: I failed to read the fine print when I got hired that says I am responsible for helping coworkers' children with their homework. Our healthcare manager walked into my office this morning offering me $50 to do a science crossword puzzle for her child. Not to actually solve the puzzle, but to make it. She had gone to puzzlemaker.com and had some difficulties getting the crossword to print properly. She was in a panic. She was completely flustered. It may have only taken me 10 minutes to type in all the words and print up the crossword, but the point is: that's NOT my job.

Our office works exactly like the one on the commercials.

"Hey, Joshua - what do you do with all the emails I delete?"

"Hey, Joshua - I think I broke the internet."

I'm already in a haze this morning. I had trouble getting up on time. I've been watching the sci-fi channel's presentation of Taken. This is the second week. I must say at this point I am severely disappointed (and disgusted) by last night's episode. They had Heather Donahue's character (she's the one who cries a lot in the Blair Witch Project) have sex with Matt Frewer's character (Max Headroom - 'nuff said).... and they SHOWED IT ON THE SCREEN. Nothing says "hey I want to puke" quite like that.

For the most part it's a great series. I've enjoyed watching and seeing where the story goes. Spielberg and his cohorts have surprised me more than a few times.

Back to getting up this morning. I was having one of those almost-awake dreams right as my alarm went off. I dreamed I was an alien, just like on the show. I couldn't get up yet, and kept setting my alarm over and over, in different cycles and using mathematical equations. Overkill, I know. But aliens apparently need more sleep than regular people and that was the reasoning behind me not getting up. OK - shut up. It made sense this morning.

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!