Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-10-26 - 8:01 a.m.

Zanisms

I must reveal something that is an undeniable fact:

I have the cutest and smartest kid in the entire world.

There. I've said it - and now the rest of you can stop saying the same about your kid. I am sorry to be the one to tell you, but it's true.

Zane is completely full of personality these days. He demonstrates his self-awareness in ways that can amuse me for hours and hours. Somewhere in the past few months he's gone from imitating me (mannerisms, etc) to creating his own little set of Zaneisms. The latest and greatest is this face he makes. It's difficult to describe, but bear with me...

He tilts his head slightly downward while looking up at me, he sort of purses his lips as if he's contemplating something that is only slightly serious (but mostly amusing), and then he raises his eyebrows - it's almost as if he's going to crack up laughing at any moment, but he's trying earnestly to remain serious. It makes me laugh out loud every time.

And recently he has begun giving this look at the most inopportune moments - like when I am getting frustrated with him for not eating. He'll pose his face into this specific look, almost daring me to be upset with him - all the while silently saying, "C'mon... I am cute!! You can't be frustrated with me!"

One of his favorite games (and mine, I admit) is playing "chase" throughout the house. Sometimes he'll be walking along, minding his own business - then all of a sudden he'll give me this over-the-shoulder glance. I make a funny face at him and he screaches with delight at the prospect of "escaping" from me. All I really have to do is take several big steps and I've caught up with him - but I'll let him believe that the chase is on... He'll gain some ground and then I grab his shoulders. Sometimes he collapses with laughter. And sometimes he makes it to Amanda - better known in this game as "home-base". For some reason if he can make it to her he's "safe" and then it's my turn to run from him.

As I run (fast walk, really) I'll find a hiding place, usually in the kitchen. I'll watch Zane in the reflection of the window as he pauses at the threshold of the kitchen, sensing that I have stopped... somewhere. He sticks his little butt out and puts his arms behind him as he leans into the kitchen surveying the playing field. The look of total anticipation on his face always makes me want to give away my position by exploding into laughter, but I manage to hold it in. He'll creep slowly through the kitchen looking and looking. Just as he approaches I jump out and yell. He always jumps about 7 feet in the air and, for a moment, has a look of utter terror on his face just before he giggles and runs back to mommy.

And lastly - I've successfully taught Zane to do the "rock n roll" gesture... you know, the bull horns (index finger and pinky, throwback to Metallica days) when he hears music. OK, perhaps "successfully" is a bit strong, since he's only able to hold up his index finger. But he's got the motion down. And he thinks it's fun.

So that's it for now. He's so damn cute...

previous - next

duh - 2008-09-15

hi mac - 2006-12-12

corporate whore - 2006-11-03

new - 2006-10-05

elvis costello sings for you - 2006-09-27


What I Read(for fun and amusement)

HERE

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!